Joining the Math Club

Can you find the cat in the junk pile?

Can you find the cat?

Today I visited my college’s math club for the first time. We met in a room in the mathematics department–all six of us. Out of about 11,000 students enrolled for college credit, the math club consisted of 3 professors and 2 other students. It is my understanding, however, that there are more than 5 members–they just didn’t all show up today for one reason or another.

It wasn’t exactly what I had anticipated. To be fair, I’ve never been part of an academic club, so I probably shouldn’t’ve’d (should not have had) preconceptions. For some reason, I expected the math club meeting to be a more challenging and more participatory version of a math lecture. It wasn’t. We watched the last part of a documentary on the Riemann Hypothesis (apparently they had watched the first part in last week’s meeting) after which they bandied about esoteric words like “topology” and tried to find a well-hidden cat in a photo of a massive junk pile, because, well you know–mathematicians are blind people in a dark room looking for a black cat which isn’t there.

I did find the experience interesting. I think I will officially join the club and begin attending it as regularly as I can. It’s an opportunity to network with like-minded people, and it’ll expand my horizons when it comes to number theory.

Categories: College Life, Math | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Sean Carroll

in truth, only atoms and the void

The Intrepid Mathematician

Reading, writing and arithmetic.

The Life of an Ex-Amish Girl

My thoughts and feelings

What's new

Updates on my research and expository papers, discussion of open problems, and other maths-related topics. By Terence Tao

Grownass Math

Bringing some fucking style to the math game.

elkemental Force

Research Notes on Energy, Software, and Life. By 'Subversive Elkement' Elke Stangl. Theory and Practice of Trying to Combine Just Anything.

a political idealist.

Lidia. 21. A college student with a blog dedicated to the thoughts and ramblings of the mind.

Many Worlds Theory

In one universe, this blog is about quantum mechanics. In another universe, it is not.

The Cheerful Chemist

Fascinating molecules and new developments in chemistry

Math with Bad Drawings

Math, teaching, copious metaphors, and drawings that will never ever earn a spot on the fridge

Post-Grad

Someone hire me. Please.

The Lazy College Student's Survival Guide

As a self-identified lazy college student with a High GPA. I will share my secrets to having an effective college education while not losing much sleep or life. Let's Go

mycollegelifeblog

Experience the joys of university life with me!

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

My Digital Destiny

From carbon to silicon...

